DBS Results – 5/19/18

Touring Outlaw Modified Series
Devil’s Bowl Speedway, Mesquite, TX
Saturday May 19, 2018

Dycus dominates the Bowl with the TOMS series

With 30 cars rolling into the famed ½ mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway the TOMS series had a stout field of entries led by their 2-time series champion (14t) Triston Dycus. At the drop of the green flag for the evening events, Dycus was the man to beat with starting 4th in his heat moving up to second on the first lap, then to battle the (5x) of Danny Veal who held a steady line.  Dycus finally took over the top spot as Veal pushed up the track slightly in turns 3 and 4 on lap 7 of 8 lap heat, this allowed Dycus to squeeze by to take the race win. Other heat race top performances were from (28B) Wendall Bolen, (56) Troy Taylor, (25d) Donnie Shipp, which lock them into the top eight redraw.

Day Motor Sports B-Main races were won by (66x) Mike Dillard and the (74) Jasen Hammond

21 cars took to the racing surface to start the 20 lap Summit Racing Equipment A-Main.  Wendall Bolden took the green flag and quickly jumped out to a 4-5 car advantage after lap 1. Dycus started the race in the eight spot and quickly went to work on the bottom groove of the track. Bolden was stretching his lead on the field riding the high side cushion while Dycus was making the low side the fast way taking the 4th spot at the completion of lap 2. Dycus quickly made is way to battle for the second spot with Troy Taylor was occupying the spot.  He finally squeezed by on lap 4 to set his sights chasing down Bolden.  Over the next few laps Dycus had reeled in the highflying Bolden and with the smooth strong low side approach he had been running, Dycus snuck up to Bolden’s back bumper at the flag stand. With a drive on the bottom going into turns 1 and 2 Dycus drove up and passed Bolden to take over the lead at lap 9.  Lap 11 brought out the races only caution stacking up the field. Dycus would lead the field for the final laps to capture his first TOMS Series feature of the season. He was followed by Bolden, Taylor, O’Neal and the Dunn Jr. to round out the top 5.

Next up for the Outlaws of the TOMS Series will the David Pope Memorial Race on May 27th at Superbowl Speedway.  Racing gets underway at 5pm.


Awards N More – Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)

(25d) Donnie Shipp, (27L)Trevor Lantham, (2c) Chris Huckeba, (34n) C.A. Nix, (12) Johnny Philpot, (81) Cody Simpson, (82)Max Eddie Thomas, (711) Michael Daniels,


Dynamic Drive Lines – Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)

(14t) Triston Dycus, (5x) Danny Veal, (4d) Bo Day, (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (57) Clint Jones, (28) Matt Deaver, (23) Steve Nabors,


Big Tex Auto – Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)

(56) Troy Taylor, (121) Bobby Ruffin, (66x) Mike Dillard, (3c) Charlie Smith, (51x) Danny Florence, (82x) Greg Teske, (1*) Mark Johannsen,


Deatherage Opticians – Heat Race #4 (8 Laps)

(28b) Wendall Bolden, (29x) Lance Plant, (8) Skip Oneal, (74) Jasen Hammonds, (77b) Marcus Baxter, (7)Sean Gaddis, (15)Kyle Cave,


Day Motorsports “B” Main #1 (10 Laps)

(66x) Mike Dillard, (82)Max Eddie Thomas, (12) Johnny Philpot,   (3c) Charlie Smith, (2g) Kenny Gaddis, (82x) Greg Teske,  (81) Cody Simpson,  (1*) Mark Johannsen (DNS), (711) Michael Daniels (DNS),


Smilies Racing Products “B” Main #2 (10 Laps)

(74) Jasen Hammonds, (77b) Marcus Baxter, (51x) Danny Florence, (28) Matt Deaver, (15)Kyle Cave, (7)Sean Gaddis,  (57) Clint Jones, (34n) C.A. Nix (DNS), (23) Steve Nabors (DNS),


Summit Racing Equipment – “A” Main (20 Laps)

  1. (14t) Triston Dycus
  2. (28b) Wendall Bolden
  3. (56) Troy Taylor
  4. (8) Skip Oneal
  5. (88xxx) Clyde Dunn Jr
  6. (27L)Trevor Lantham
  7. (2c) Chris Huckeba
  8. (82)Max Eddie Thomas
  9. (3c) Charlie Smith
  10. (25d) Donnie Shipp
  11. (74) Jasen Hammond
  12. (121) Bobby Ruffin
  13. (12) Johnny Philpot
  14. (5x) Danny Veal
  15. (57) Clint Jones
  16. (77b) Marcus Baxter
  17. (66x) Mike Dillard
  18. (29x) Lance Plant
  19. (4d) Bo Day
  20. (28) Matt Deaver
  21. (51x) Danny Florence


Lap Leaders: 1-8(28b) Wendall Bolden / 9-20 (14t) Triston Dycus

Day Motorsports Tire Winner: (74) Jasen Hammond

Pulse Racing:  (25d) Donnie Shipp

GRT Contengicies:  (14t) Triston Dycus

Smiley’s Hard Charger: (3c) Charlie Smith

Superior Hard Charger: (3c) Charlie Smith


Special Thanks to our Sponsors:
Summit Racing Equipment, Smiley’s Racing Products, Day Motorsports, Big Tex Auto, Fritzfoto, Pulse Racing Innovations, Five1Seven Designs, All-Star Signs by Wesley,  Superior Steering Wheels, Love Graphics, Wichita Tank, Awards N More, GRT Race Cars, MB Customs Race Cars, Milt Clark Performance Warehouse,

Special thanks to the Edwards Family and all of the Devil’s Bowl Speedway staff for your help and support of the TOMS Series.